| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Dokkio Sidebar (from the makers of PBworks) is a Chrome extension that eliminates the need for endless browser tabs. You can search all your online stuff without any extra effort. And Sidebar was #1 on Product Hunt! Check out what people are saying by clicking here.

View
 

Jones, Diana Wynne - Howl's Moving Castle

Page history last edited by Annie 14 years ago

Jones, Diana Wynne - Howl's Moving Castle : 224 pages, © 1986

 

Cursed to appear old by the Witch of the Waste, eighteen-year-old Sophie sets out to make her fortune anyway.  She meets the wizard Howl, a disreputable rogue, and begins to fall in love with him.  She joins forces with a fire demon to break hers and Howl's curses, and to stop the Witch.  While not based on a specific fairy tale, this novel plays with the conventions of many folk and fairy stories, to great and humorous effect. 

 

Sequels: 

 

Castle in the Air

House of Many Ways

 

Readalikes: 

 

The Changeling Sea by Patricia A. McKillip

 

Previous Page

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.