| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Dokkio Sidebar (from the makers of PBworks) is a Chrome extension that eliminates the need for endless browser tabs. You can search all your online stuff without any extra effort. And Sidebar was #1 on Product Hunt! Check out what people are saying by clicking here.

View
 

Doyle, Marissa - Bewitching Season

Page history last edited by Annie 13 years, 10 months ago

Doyle, Marissa - Bewitching Season : 352 pages, © 2008

London, England, 1837

 

In the spring of 1837, twins Penelope and Persephone (Pen and Persy) set off to London for their first season, but Persy finds she would rather study magic than try to court a husband. When their governess goes missing, the twins think they have enough to worry about, but then Persy finds herself falling for their handsome neighbor, adding another layer of secrets to her previously simple life.

 

Red Flags: 

 

Some mild cursing (rare uses of "hell" and "damn"); Persy disguises herself as a boy at one point; some mild sexuality (kissing, non-sexual physical contact)

 

 

Readalikes: 

 

A College of Magics by Caroline Stevermer and Patricia Wrede (the sequel, A Scholar of Magics, is a better fit)

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray (for readers who don't mind a darker story)

Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke

The Privilege of the Sword by Ellen Kushner

Sorcercy and Cecelia by Patrica Wrede

 

Previous Page

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.