| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Dokkio Sidebar (from the makers of PBworks) is a Chrome extension that eliminates the need for endless browser tabs. You can search all your online stuff without any extra effort. And Sidebar was #1 on Product Hunt! Check out what people are saying by clicking here.

View
 

Carey, Jacqueline - Kushiel's Dart

Page history last edited by Annie 13 years, 6 months ago

Carey, Jacqueline - Kushiel's Dart : 512 pages, ©2001

 

Jacqueline Carey has created an intriguing, realistic, and complex world full of interwoven religions, politics and social structures. Though not for all readers, due to strong sexuality, the compelling story of Phedre no' Delaunay follows a "whore's unwanted get" as she becomes a woman worthy of her master's name, her queen's loyalty, and her patron's marque.  After her marque is purchased by Anafiel Delaunay, Phedre is educated in history, culture, languages, and the ways of observation.  While in Delaunay's service, Phedre is exposed to a plot against crown and her homeland.  Phedre's knowledge causes her terrible pain and places her in grave danger, but inevitably leads her to use her knowledge and talents to play a critical role in the conflicts to come. The novel is a bit slow to begin, as Cary develops the structure of the world she has created, but it soon becomes an adventure of twists and turns that cannot be put down.

 

Red Flags: 

 

Strong sexuality, often with sado-masochistic overtones; violence (both sexual and non-sexual); prostitution seen as a sacred calling

 

Series: 

 

Kushiel's Chosen

Kushiel's Avatar (concludes Phedre's series)

 

Kushiel's Scion (follows Phedre's ward)

Kushiel's Justice

Kushiel's Mercy

 

Namaah's Kiss (follows a descendant of Imriel hundreds of years later)

 

Readalikes: 

 

Daughter of the Blood by Anne Bishop

Maledicte by Lane Robins

 

Previous Page

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.