| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Dokkio Sidebar (from the makers of PBworks) is a Chrome extension that eliminates the need for endless browser tabs. You can search all your online stuff without any extra effort. And Sidebar was #1 on Product Hunt! Check out what people are saying by clicking here.

View
 

Black, Holly - Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale

Page history last edited by Annie 14 years ago

Black, Holly - Tithe:  A Modern Faerie Tale : 320 pages, © 2002

 

Kaye discovers that she is a faery changeling, and falls in love with Roiben, a knight of the Unseelie Court.  Now she must escape the plans the the court has for her, as well as save herself and Roiben from the machinations of the queens of both the Light and the Dark courts.  First in a trilogy. 

 

Red Flags: 

 

Kaye and her friends don't shy away from discussions of sex and sexuality.  Cursing and underage smoking and drinking are also present.  Some of the images of the Unseelie court and its inhabitants may be disturbing to some readers (grotesque creatures, violence).  One character is gay.  **SPOILER** One character is caught up in Faery glamour which essentially makes him a slave; some readers may be uncomfortable with the victimization of a teenage boy. 

 

Sequels:

 

Valiant

Ironside

 

Readalikes: 

 

The War for the Oaks by Emma Bull (for older readers)

The Blue Girl by Charles de Lint

Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Solstice Wood by Patricia McKillip

 

Previous Page

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.