| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Whenever you search in PBworks, Dokkio Sidebar (from the makers of PBworks) will run the same search in your Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive, Gmail, and Slack. Now you can find what you're looking for wherever it lives. Try Dokkio Sidebar for free.

View
 

Anderson, Laurie Halse - Speak

Page history last edited by Elissa 14 years, 5 months ago

Anderson, Laurie Halse - Speak : 224 pages, © 2006

 

Highschool freshman Melinda is labeled the class piraiah when she calls the police at a party, landing several popular students under arrest.  But readers gradually come to realize that Melinda called the police because she was date-raped by the school's most popular senior.  Unable to speak to anyone about her trauma, Melinda lapses into total silence, withdrawing into herself and her artwork.  Over the course of this powerful novel, Melinda comes to terms with what has happened to her, and finds the voice to speak out about what has occured. 

 

Red Flags: 

 

Date rape; school bullying

 

Readalikes: 

 

 

Previous Page

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.